Shingle Street, Bawdsey, Ramsholt and Sutton Hoo

OS Explorer 197 map coordinates 3642 for Shingle Street.

I’ve been to Shingle Street twice, both times on my bike and early in the morning. Its quiet, deserted and very beautiful. I even saw a pair of seals on the spit. First trip I decided to go from Shingle St to Bawdsey along the coast, not easy and not recommended due to lack of track then almost vertical wooden ladder to get up onto the sea wall. Second time I settled for the road back to Hollesley.

This is roughly a 40 mile round trip, either back through Bawdsey or Hollesley, with fantastic sea views and bits of history with the Martello towers and Sutton Hoo.

About debencyclist

Cycling enthusiast
This entry was posted in Felixstowe, River Ore and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.