Loompit and Levington

This ride picks up from a previous Trimley outing that ended early with a puncture. That day I left the Orwell behind me at Loompit Lake and trudged up the track back to the village. Today my first task was to find Loompit Lake again.

From Kesgrave I set off for Trimley St Martin and High Road that goes through it. Just short of Goslings Farm (PYO Strawberries) is Thorpe Lane (OS Explorer 197 coordinates 265 375). The OS map shows a green diamond marked route and that’s where you need to go. On land its signposted as a bridleway and you follow it down to Loompit Lake. You can see the Orwell from a distance so its not too hard to find.

I turned right at Loompit Lake and walked across the causeway with the Orwell on my left. It was astonishingly windy which you might be able to detect from the picture of blurry reeds and choppy water.

The track continues around and behind Levington Marina through some woodland. Bit more walking and pushing here due to the narrow and steep path (Stratton Cliff).

Out of the woods I turned right, away from the marina, and continued over the level crossing to the main road, coming out opposite Walk Farm. I turned left towards Ipswich and found myself on the Levington by pass/dual carriageway. Not my favourite kind of cycling but it wasn’t far until I could take a left onto a cycle path alongside the A1156. A right turn towards Trimley might have been a quieter ride.

Just short of the Suffolk Showground (aka Trinity Park) I crossed into Straight Road which took me through Foxhall. From there I followed signs to Kesgrave via Monument Farm Road and Bell Lane.

All in all 18 miles and almost 2 hours. Not fast but it was very windy and there was a bit of walking and pushing.

About debencyclist

Cycling enthusiast
This entry was posted in Felixstowe, River Orwell and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.