Hemley

OS Explorer map 197 coordinates 285 425 for Hemley church.

I like Hemley. Its got a few houses, a church and a phone box, lots of stripey rolling fields and distant-ish views of the Deben. Its kind of a dead end. When you get to the church there’s a road left which ends with some houses and a farm gate. You could get further on foot but I wouldn’t try it with my bike. If you go straight on at the church the road turns into track and then a field as you get closer to the Deben. I have seen a guy on a mountain bike down there who looked like he was on a loop but I’ve not been brave enough to try that. You can’t walk even alongside the Deben to Waldringfield from here as the path has eroded.

So today I did a nice gentle 14 miles. I rode from Kesgrave to the beach at Waldringfield and felt overdressed in my tights when the sun came out. Out of Waldringfield I turned left at the crossroads, towards the church and Hemley then instead of passing Hemley as I often do I followed the lane down towards the church and had a little wander.

Route home was back the way I came out of Hemley, turn left at the bend and past Red House into Newbourne, turn right just after the Fox, past the church and Katie’s Garden then on to Kesgrave by the Brightwell bus cafe and Adastral Park.

About debencyclist

Cycling enthusiast
This entry was posted in River Deben, Woodbridge and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.