Framlingham Castle

OS Explorer Map 212 coordinates 285 635 for the castle.

The route from Kesgrave to Framlingham was to Martlesham then through Woodbridge over the crossroads on the B1438 to Melton, Ufford and Wickham Market. Then the B1438/B1078 through Wickham Market, over Wickham Bridge by Deben Mills and left at the roundabout onto the B1116 towards Hacheston. That road takes you all the way to Framlingham and when you get there the castle is signposted. Its a little bit up and down but the hills look worse in the distance than they really are.

I came back via a different route. It was Sunday and I had lots of time to pootle about and only a target of 32 miles to think about before I got home. I did 35 in all, just under 16 to the castle and the rest wandering back.

Out of Framlingham I got off the main road by turning right towards Kettleburgh. The whole atmosphere of the ride changed. There hadn’t been much traffic on the main road but on the lanes there was none and lovely wide open fields to look at on either side.

I rode through Kettleburgh, Brandesdon, Cretingham, Burgh, Clopton, Otley, Grundisburgh and Great and Little Bealings. I think that’s the right order 🙂

From Brandesdon I followed signs to Woodbridge until I got to the junction by Otley post office when it was a choice of right to Helmingham and Debenham or left to Clopton and Wickham Market. Where did Woodbridge go? I chose left, which was right, if you see what I mean, and was rewarded with a 30 mph zoom down the hill. Next time I’ll include Debach village which looks like a good diversion off the ‘Roman Road’.

About debencyclist

Cycling enthusiast
This entry was posted in Woodbridge and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.