Falkenham winter wanderings

OS Explorer Map 197 coordinates for Falkenham Back Lane 295 382

My motivation this morning was to cover 25 miles on my new bike (oh yes, shiny new toy) as this was my first opportunity to have a proper ride on it. The weather was gloomy, autumn colours were fading into winter sludge and it was drizzly but I didn’t care. I had my lights on the whole while and I still had a lovely time, isn’t that amazing.

From Kesgrave the route to Falkenham is through Martlesham Heath to Adastral Park, ride alongside the A14 then past what was the Brightwell Bus Cafe but is currently having a makeover. Turn right then immediately left towards Brightwell and Felixstowe. After a longish straight bit turn left into Croft Lane and left again towards Kirton at the t-junction, otherwise you’ll end up on the A14. Then after another couple of miles just past Innocence House is a crossroads. Left is Kirton, right is Trimley. It jinks a bit but you want to go straight over onto Back Lane which leads to Falkenham.

Falkenham is lovely, its just soooooo quiet with hardly any traffic. Sunday mornings I usually see other cyclists and horse riders but today (Friday) I saw two people with dogs and that was that. I did a couple of laps then headed off to Kirton and came home via Waldringfield, Newbourne pigs, Hemley and Martlesham Heath. Not a very direct route obviously but today I was riding my bike just for the sake of riding my bike and there’s nothing wrong with that.

25 miles done and dusted.

About debencyclist

Cycling enthusiast
This entry was posted in Felixstowe and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.