Butley River, Burrow Hill

OS Explorer Map 212 coordinates 392 482 for Butley ferry crossing.

I’ve had a great ride today getting to and from the Butley river and now I’m home looking at the map I’ve realised I wasn’t exactly where I thought I was, so I’m going to have to go back another day. Can’t wait, the view of Butley river from Burrow Hill was stunning, one of those rare moments when I’m cycling and wish there was someone else to share the ‘wow look at that’ moment. I even took the shiny new bike down a muddy farm track, but now I’m getting ahead of myself.

I set off looking for Butley Priory and Abbey, not realising that the first is a private residence and the second is part of a farm, so they’re not really visitor attractions. I know where the road to Butley Priory is so I rode through Woodbridge and over Wilford Bridge turning left at the roundabout onto the B1084. I went through Rendlesham forest (on the road) with some bright winter sunlight breaking through the trees which only made my eyes water a little bit.

Just past the right turn into Rendlesham forest visitors’ centre is another right turn signposted Butley Priory, so that’s where I went. There’s a pig farm on the left with lots of corrugated iron huts that were glowing in the sunshine. I soon got to the priory and as the sign said something like “private, residents and by invitation only” I shot past wondering if the abbey would be more welcoming.  I soon got a glimpse of the abbey which seems to be part of a farm.

So now I’d been over the stone bridge and through Capel St Andrew and taken a left by Home Farm. I was  a little undecided on where to go next. Then I saw a sign on the left that said ‘Butley Ferry” and something like “walkers and pedal cycles only”. I’ve heard of the Butley ferry, and that it only runs at weekends and bank holidays during the summer, so I followed the track just hoping to get a look at the Butley river. I was not disappointed.

I didn’t get right down to the river but followed the track up and over Burrow Hill. From the top there was a gorgeous view of the river meandering down to the North Sea which was glowing brightly in the distance. It was so bright I couldn’t see anything in the camera viewfinder but I took a few shots anyway.

 

I followed the track northish to Butley Low Corner/Coulton Farm where it rejoined the tarmac so I rode back the way I’d come past the abbey the priory and the pigs. Then it was back through Rendlesham forest, Woodbridge and home. 29 miles in all.

 

 

Brilliant ride, very happy. Love my new bike.

About debencyclist

Cycling enthusiast
This entry was posted in Woodbridge and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.