Aldeburgh scallop

OS Explorer Map 212 coordinates 468 575 for the car park near the scallop sculpture.

Maggie Hambling’s sculpture on Aldeburgh beach has been a cycling target of mine for ages and today I finally got there. This was 27 miles from Kesgrave via Woodbridge, Rendlesham Forest, Butley, Sudbourne, Iken and Snape. Chilly but peaceful and packed with wildlife including deer, piglets, pheasants, rabbits, squirrels and sadly, a dead fox.

I was met by my lovely family in the car park as we’d planned to ride up the coast together to Thorpeness and maybe Sizewell but due to it being cold and draughty mini-me refused and I had to concede that my knee had resigned round about Snape and could probably do with a rest. The coast path up to Thorpeness looks great and we’ll definitely be going back.

 

About debencyclist

Cycling enthusiast
This entry was posted in Aldeburgh, River Alde. Bookmark the permalink.