Rendlesham Forest

After Sunday’s 66 miles on the road (see Suffolk Sunrise post) I fancied a bit of a contrast today so put the MTB on the car rack and drove to Rendlesham forest to try out their 10 mile bike trail.

It was beautiful and if you fancy a bit of cycling but don’t like roads I’d recommend giving this a go. You’ll need an MTB, CX or hybrid rather than a skinny tyre road bike. There is a bike hire shop but it wasn’t open today.

For directions and other facilities look at Rendlesham Forest visitor website here

I followed the green FIDO signs along sandy track, gravelly bits, muddy bits with puddles and through piles of pine cones. I got around in about an hour.

The ride was accompanied by birds singing, squirrels scampering, pigs grunting and deer running across the track right in front of me. Oh, and I saw some ponies. Idyllic or what?

About debencyclist

Cycling enthusiast
This entry was posted in Woodbridge and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.